tongue-tied lightning


20 Best Films I Saw In 2008
January 1, 2009, 3:36 PM
Filed under: film

I’m excluding 2008 releases because they will show up on my top ten, probably in a few months, and 2007 releases because they were on my top ten of 2007.  I didn’t keep track of all the films I watched this year, so this is based on a combination of my Netflix history and memory.  It’s possible some slipped through the cracks.  They are listed in alphabetical order.  Format stolen from Rouge.

39stepsThe 39 Steps (Hitchcock, 1935)

006Baby Doll (Kazan, 1956)

bandwagonThe Band Wagon (Minnelli, 1953)

bugslifeA Bug’s Life (Lasseter/Stanton, 2008)

clunybrownCluny Brown (Lubitsch, 1946)

eyeswideshutEyes Wide Shut (Kubrick, 1999)

fforfakeF for Fake (Welles, 1974)

fannyFanny and Alexander (Bergman, 1984)

golddiggersGold Diggers of 1933 (LeRoy, 1933)

imitationoflifeImitation of Life (Sirk, 1959)

lauraLaura (Preminger, 1944)

libeledladyLibeled Lady (Conway, 1938)

majorandtheminorThe Major and the Minor (Wilder, 1942)

morganscreek1The Miracle of Morgan’s Creek (Sturges, 1944)

themorethemerrierThe More the Merrier (Stevens, 1943)

openingnightOpening Night (Cassavetes, 1977)

personaPersona (Bergman, 1966)

tobeornottobeTo Be or Not To Be (Lubitsch, 1942)

unfaithfullyUnfaithfully Yours (Sturges, 1948)

werckmeisterWerckmeister Harmonies (Tarr, 2001)

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Awesomesauce, all of these that I’ve seen are fantastic. The one with the boobies is on my list as well 😀

Comment by orpheline

Our lists share Baby Doll, Cluny Brown and the aforementioned “one with the boobies”. I approve.

Comment by spengo

Awesome list, so awesome. I love a lot of these, I’m sure you know. I really want to see Miracle at Morgan’s Creek and the Major and the Minor.

Comment by mrsemmapeel

note to self: if you want orph to comment on your blog posts, bring boobies 🙂

rouge, i think you recommended me about half of them either that or they were recommendations from sven via you. i can’t help it if your recs are that damn good.

Comment by justin

Más de la mitad las mejores películas de todos los tiempos.

Comment by Xavier Sans Ezquerra




Leave a Reply

