tongue-tied lightning


10 Most Anticipated Films of 2009
January 15, 2009, 5:47 PM
Filed under: film

thisside

10. This Side of the Truth (dir. Ricky Gervais)

Given how much I love Gervais’ TV series The Office and Extras you’d think this would be higher up the list.  Well, he really hasn’t done anything that good on the silver screen yet.  Let’s hope he was just building up clout for his debut as a writer/director.  The cast he has assembled consists of Jason Bateman, Christopher Guest, Jeffrey Tambor, Jonah Hill, Tina Fey and several other highly regarded figures in the world of comedy.  I’m cautiously optimistic.

seriousman

9. A Serious Man (dir. Joel & Ethan Coen)

Another one that may seem a bit low as the Coens are second only to Woody Allen as my favorite working American directors, and let’s face it despite the greatness of Vicky Cristina Barcelona Woody is in a bit of a down period.  Well, that’s the problem here too.  No Country for Old Men was great, but Ladykillers, Intolerable Cruelty and Burn After Reading all left much to be desired.  Let’s hope this one is more in line with No Country, qualitywise.  They shot it in Minnesota on a shoestring budget, and Richard Kind is the most recognizable name in the cast.  I have the script but am trying my hardest not to read it.

publicenemies

8. Public Enemies (dir. Michael Mann)

Johnny Depp as Dillinger is all I needed to hear to get excited for this one.  That it’s being directed by Michael Mann and covers the entire crimewave of the early 1930s and the early days of the FBI is just icing on the cake.  I haven’t scene everything Mann has done but I love Collateral. It will be interesting to see him working in this period.  Another casting that excites me is Channing Tatum as Pretty Boy Floyd, he impressed me in A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints and I’m looking forward to see him in his first big role.

up

7. Up! (dir. Pete Docter)

WALL-E is my favorite Pixar movie to date.  To that point I hadn’t been a big Andrew Stanton fan, preferring John Lasseter and Brad Bird’s work for the studio.  That makes Pete Docter my least favorite Pixar director at the moment.  Let’s hope Up! is for him what WALL-E was for Stanton.  It’s certainly an intriguing premise, and as always the animation looks stunning.

limits

6. The Limits of Control (dir. Jim Jarmusch)

I’ll be honest.  I pretty much know nothing about this film.  Jarmusch’s last three features (Dead Man, Ghost Dog and Broken Flowers) have been increasingly great.  This pairs him with Bill Murray again and as their last collaboration made for my favorite Jarmusch film, I’m quite excited.  Tagging along is another of my favorite actors Gael Garcia-Bernal and the ineffable Tilda Swinton.

wildthings

5. Where the Wild Things Are (dir. Spike Jonze)

I was pretty excited about this and 6 or 8 months ago it may have placed higher.  However, rumors of studio interference have me a bit worried.  I just hope the cut we end up seeing is the cut Spike wants us to see.  I was a big fan of the book as a kid and it seems like the imagery would translate wonderfully to the big screen.  Spike has already directed my favorite film of the decade, let’s see how he follows it up.

road

4. The Road (dir. John Hillcoat)

Another one I’m slightly worried about because it got bumped from November to December, and then from December to 2009.  I have several reasons to be excited.  The Road is one of the best books I’ve read, period.   Viggo Mortensen, Charlize Theron, Michael K. Williams, Guy Pearce and Robert Duvall is an impressive cast.  I never got around to seeing Hillcoat’s last film The Proposition, but I’ve heard nothing but good things.  Nick Cave is doing the soundtrack, he penned my favorite score of 2007.  Javier Aguirresarobe is shooting the film and he made Woody Allen’s Vicky Cristina Barcelona look beautiful this year.  To top it all off, some scenes of this film were shot about 5 minutes from my house.  I don’t know if it’s a good thing or not that my area can pass for a post-apocalyptic wasteland, but it’s always fun to see local places on film.

basterds

3. Inglourious Basterds (dir. Quentin Tarantino)

The only reason this isn’t number 1 is because I was disappointed with Death Proof.  Aside from two thrilling car chase scenes I thought it featured some of Quentin’s worst dialogue and it’s certainly his most indulgent film.  I’ve read the script for Basterds and it is damn good.  It seems like it will be in line with Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and Kill Bill. It will be surreal to see Hitler speaking Tarantino dialogue.  The casting decisions, aside from Eli Roth, have all sounded wonderful as well.  Rumors that Ennio Morricone will be scoring it only add to my anticipation.

whateverworks1

2. Whatever Works (dir. Woody Allen)

I mentioned earlier Woody Allen is my favorite director.  He’s hot off the success of Vicky Cristina Barcelona and he’s back in New York City.  To top it off, his new film is starring none other than Larry David,  Seinfeld creator and star of Curb Your Enthusiasm.  Need I say more?  It’s a match made in heaven.  Just look at that screencap, I’m already laughing.

broken

1. Broken Embraces (dir. Pedro Almodovar)

From the press release: ” Broken Embraces is a four–way tale of amour–fou, shot in the style of ‘50s American film noir at its most hard–boiled, and will mix references to works like Nicholas Ray’s In a Lonely Place and Vincente Minnelli’s The Bad and the Beautiful, with signature Almodóvar themes such as Fate, the mystery of creation, guilt, unscrupulous power, the eternal search of fathers for sons, and sons for fathers. Broken Embraces is an original screenplay written by the director and joins him again with Penelope Cruz.”  Can I borrow a Kleenex?

20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

YES. I was totally going to do this, then got lazy when I couldn’t find enough films. I’m sure my list would look nearly identical to this, so you saved me some time 😀

Comment by mrsemmapeel

we are list twins. though i don’t imagine yours would have Jarmusch or Tarantino.

Comment by justin

TTL, it’s Viv. I found this from Rouge’s clubhouse and thought I’d jumble together all my comments: The Ricky Gervais film sounds awesome, and Coen’s on a shoestring I think will be better than their recent disappointments. Channing Tatum interests me too, but for different reasons! But like you, I also think he has more acting chops than people would expect. I have a strong feeling that Where the Wild Things Are will be a studio slash-fest and disneyification, I kinda wish that they’d release the film in both versions – Spike’s and the Studios, then at least we could view this film in its pure original form. Broken Embraces looks freaking amazing!!!! Your hood looks like a post-apocalyptic wasteland? that’s pretty cool. What’s your favorite Tarantinto film? but even more so, what is your favorite Allen film? Mine is Interiors, I saw it a year ago and loved it. What are your thoughts on what I view as his masterpiece?

Comment by Jackie

i don’t know you but you like interiors so i like you. most people hate it. to be honest it’s probably around my tenth favorite film of his but i like it alot, probably 8/10. my favorite film of his is cliche, annie hall. but every once in awhile i think i like the purple rose of cairo more. crimes and misdemeanors is great too.

for tarantino, jackie brown i think. though occasionally i’ll say kill bill or pulp fiction.

thanks for the thoughts!

Comment by justin

Justin – I am confused, is this your blog or RT/icine’s Tim who goes by “tongue-tied lightning.” Anyway, I like Jackie Brown best too. That’s interesting you have so much love for Purple Rose of Cairo – it’s a solid film that no one really ever talks about…

Comment by Jackie

it’s my blog, i’m ledfloyd on RT, i didn’t know there was someone named tongue-tied lightning!

Comment by justin

Wow, so weird. Well, the poster doesn’t really post at RT anymore for the past 2 yrs so that would be why you haven’t heard of him. I came across this and it seemed to be his taste and I assumed it was him! What made you come up with tongue-tied lightning?

Comment by Jackie

haha, it’s a wilco lyric.

Comment by justin

All this time I had no clue, I thought he invented the phrase!!!! Thanks for solving the mystery. I’ll keep tabs on this blog anyway, it’s good stuff.

Comment by Jackie

well i’m glad to have you 🙂

Comment by justin

So, if you were to liste them now, what you change?

Comment by jedimoonshyne

the up trailer was underwhelming so that could go. visages would definitely be on the list. and thirst could probably replace this side of the truth. also, vasco has tempered my expectations for the almodovar.

Comment by justin

What did Vasco actually say about the Almodovar? Not that I was particularly looking forward to it anyway…

Comment by jedimoonshyne

he thought it was awful, if i recall correctly.

Comment by justin

Ha, I’m the “tonguetiedlightning” Viv speaks of. Found this post via a Google vanity search. Great looking blog, by the way. I share your excitement for most of these films, especially the new Almodovar, which sounds stupendous.

Comment by ttl

Hey TTL! I mean “real” TTL. 😉

Comment by cinelust

haha, thanks man. fellow wilco fans are always welcome.

Comment by justin

i like Chaning Tatum because eventhough he has a bulky body, he can still dance so well *

Comment by Money Business :

Great post! I like the most of the movies.

Comment by Träna hemma

You are so awesome! I do not think I’ve truly read through something like this before. So good to find another person with a few genuine thoughts on this subject matter. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is required on the web, someone with a little originality!

Comment by Cash For Cars denver




Leave a Reply

