tongue-tied lightning


An Update
September 20, 2010, 6:35 PM
Filed under: misc

I’ve been neglecting this blog lately so I thought I’d make a post for the sake of making a post.  The fact is I haven’t been watching that many movies lately.  I’ve seen like 15 in the last two months.  There were a couple notable ones and I could’ve written about them, but you know, I never got around to it.  I’ve been busy with some summer stuff, being outside and that, I’ve also been doing a lot of reading lately and catching up on some TV series’.  I’m thinking about writing some pieces on some of my favorite comic books, maybe that’ll get me back in the blogging swing of things.  In the meantime here are some highlights from the last couple months.

Films:

Toy Story 3 – Another great Pixar film.  I don’t even know what to say about them anymore.  This is one of the films I felt compelled to write about, as the subtext is worth examining, but the moment has passed.  Perhaps I’ll revisit it when it hits DVD.

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World – 2 hours of pure fun.  Wright manages to translate the feeling the comics have of capturing the Id of a generation, most notably our proclivity to relate to one another via pop culture, but the formal innovation is what keeps the film having the stagnant feeling of most adaptations.  He manages to seamlessly blend the video game and comic book aesthetics into the cinematic form in a way that feels completely fresh and original.

Stolen Kisses – I’ve never been a huge fan of Truffaut, so to say this is my favorite of his films may not be the high praise it sounds like.  It’s still a wonderful film.

Showgirls – I err towards the side of those that feel this film is a Masterpiece rather than the Worst Film Ever.  I wonder how it would’ve been received if it was directed by David Lynch and not Paul Verhoeven.  The heightened performances feel positively Lynchian as does the simultaneous embracing and deconstructimg of the American Dream.  And it’s funny and entertaining on a surface level, if you’re willing to embrace the Las Vegasness of the whole thing.

Books:

Cormac McCarthy’s Border Trilogy was the running theme of my summer.  Supplanted by Kafka’s novels, Salinger’s stories and some unremarkable detours into non-fiction.  The Trial, The Castle and All the Pretty Horses are all essential reading.  I’m currently nearing the end of Nick Flynn’s Another Bullshit Night in Suck City to be followed by Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom which I will hopefully find compelling enough to write something about.

Music:

Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs and Of Montreal’s False Priest have so dominated my listening over the last month and a half that I’m hard pressed to think of anything else worth mentioning.  More about both to come in my annual Music write-up.

TV:

I filled a chink in my Joss Whedon fan armor by working my way through Angel which is, in it’s own way, as compelling as Buffy, if not quite as memorable.  I finally got around to Breaking Bad, in which Bryan Cranston earns every bit of praise he’s received.  I’m currently in the process of catching up on Friday Night Lights and hasn’t this season of Mad Men been absolutely amazing?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Totally agree about Scott Pilgrim; definitely captures the spirit of a generation.

Comment by Andrew Buckley




Leave a Reply

